Update Configurator Help System
Previous Up Contents Home Next

Typical Use

The typical use of Update Configurator is to maintain a number of workstation with identical hardware e.g. in a classroom to have identical setup and stay identical. To install the UPDATE package and use it for this purpose do the following:
  • Unpack the files of the UPDATE package to a temporary directory on your server. After the installation has finished all these files can be safely deleted.
  • Run the installation program SETUP.EXE from a workstation that you have prepared to have the setup you want to use on all the machines. Specify the relevant directories on your server where you want UPDATE to be installed. A typical setup is described in the help available from SETUP.EXE. When you press 'Finish' the installation program will copy the files needed to the directories you chose. A box will notify you that the installation has finished and when you press 'OK' a box will appear to prompt you whether to run Update Configurator.
  • Press 'Yes' to run Update Configurator and you will be prompted whether you want the workstation to be configured. Answer 'Yes' again and the 'New Workstation' dialog appears that will let you change the name and description of the workstation and pick an archive to use. Since this is the first time you run Update Configurator the list of archives will be empty.
  • Press 'New' to create a new archive. Give the archive a name that it will be known under within Update Configurator and a description. Also choose a directory where the contents of the archive will be put (the copy of the local hard disk). This directory should be on the server. Press 'OK' to create the archive. Update Configurator will run the DOS program UPDATE.EXE to create the archive and the output will be shown in a console window which disappears when UPDATE.EXE has finished. If you want to see the console window permanently you can make it appear with the appropriate item in the 'View' menu of Update Configurator.
  • The 'Run UPDATE' dialog is now displayed which gives you a choice of canceling the configuration of the workstation or performing the actual copying og the workstations hard disk(s) to the server. Before pressing 'OK' to do the copying you can change any settings in the archive and the workstation. Maybe you want to create a group to manage the archive version. When you are done press 'OK' to copy the workstations hard disk(s) to the archive.
You have now finished configuring this first workstation to use UPDATE. To test it exit Update Configurator and restart Windows. After logging on to Windows a console window should appear to run UPDATE and then close automatically.

To configure each of the other workstations to use the same archive perform the steps below for each of the workstations.

  • Make sure that Update Configurator is not running on any other workstations and that you have given the workstation you are about to configure the correct IP address.
  • Start Update Configurator on the workstation that you want to configure. You will be prompted whether you want to configure this workstation.
  • Answer 'Yes' to display the 'New Workstation' dialog. In the archive list box you should now see the archive you created above. Pick it and press 'OK' to display the 'Run UPDATE' dialog. If you have anything you want to change before UPDATE is run to copy the archive to the workstation, this is the time. Perhaps you created a group above that you want this workstation to be a member of.
  • Press 'OK' to copy the archive to the workstation (the workstations name and IP address is preserved).
  • Test your setup by exiting Update Configurator and restarting the workstation.
If you experience problems when restarting the second and subsequent workstations (some devices do not work, drivers are reinstalled, ...) you should read the section on Adapt Registry.
Previous Up Contents Home Next
Last modified 4. October 1998 by Steen Varsted