In addition to using the "Split Mode" option, you can also split the screens by clicking the "Split tab".  The tab is located to the left of the horizontal scroll's left arrow button.
You must always enter all your transactions in the same order as you execute them with your broker, otherwise, calculations for that security will not match those performed by your broker.
You should execute backups at least every 3 days to safeguard against any loss of data.
This application can notify you to do a backup after you have executed an above average number of transactions. To set these feature go to "User Setup" on the "File" menu.
When the application begins to slowdown noticeably, it may be a sign that the database needs to be compacted.  Go to the "File" menu and click on "Database Options".
The "Compact database" feature (available from the "File" menu) should be done periodically.  This application uses Access databases and requires this option to be executed often.  This will improve performance and save disk space.
This application uses Excel to generate reports. When creating these reports you will notice that columns are filled with the pound sign (#).  To see the actual values just expand the columns in Excel.  Excel will use this feature when values are larger than the column width.
To select a row you must click the first column in the grid.  This is the narrow column that contains the current arrowhead pointer.
You can build historical data by using the Daily Tracker screen.  Enter all transactions as you ordinarily do on a daily basis in the order that were executed with your broker.  When you have completed building all your history, clear all amounts in the Daily Tracker row for that symbol by first selecting it and then right clicking to bring the Pop Menu options. Select the "Clear" option.
Dates and time can be changed in the "Transaction History" screen.
The chart screen has many features.  In 3D view, you can rotate the entire chart by holding the "Ctrl" + "Alt" key and the left mouse button simultaneously.  Move the cursor to rotate.  To know more about the chart options go to "Help".
To obtain a value on the chart screen you must click once and then once more on the bar, line or pie series.  If you double click you will select the change color option.
You can only use the delete key in the "Transaction History" screen and "Purchase Price List".  All others require the use of the "Delete" option Pop Menu selection due to the logic involved on those screens.
One nice feature to consider at startup of the application is to load the "Chart Screen" with the "Daily Tracker" screen.  As you execute your daily transactions the chart screen will display your updated total asset allocation.  This will give you up to the minute information of what percentage of your entire portfolio you're allocating to each security investment.
You can change the colors of the "Chart Screen" by double clicking the items you wish to change.
When obtaining values in the chart screen sometimes is necessary to move the cursor a little over your selection to obtain it's value.
Your portfolio balance should be adjusted regularly to keep it in "sink" with your broker's total.  The balance should never be off by more than a few dollars.  This is due to extra charges executed by your broker that cannot be accounted for by Portfolio Tracker.  The Balance can be changed as an adjustment action type from the Transaction Update screen.
The best time to adjust the portfolio balance with your broker's portfolio balance is when the markets are closed.  You must also do this after the application has obtained the latest current prices for your securities.
You can change the order in the "History List" screen by changing the date and time.  This is useful when you need to adjust the order you executed a transactions. REMEMBER, the order of execution is important in order for the reports to produce correct results.
There may be occasions that the current price update feature may not update properly from the current selected Website.  Logic is built into the application to automatically switch to other sites when this situation occurs.
Adjusting the Current Balance does not affect anything important and is only provided for your information.  Sometimes it will be necessary to adjust it a couple of times until you are in "sink" with your broker.
The "Clear" Pop Menu option does not automatically delete transaction from History.  This is provided as a way for you to build History.  It is also provided as a way for you to manually undo errors when the "Undo Last" option is not available.
Many of the frequently asked questions about PCFolio are already answered in the on-line help; this tips dialog or the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) list on our web site. Please look through these resources before contacting technical support.
If you need to contact technical support directly, use the contact information provided in the Help menu.
PCFolio will check once a week for new version releases. The application will then notify you automatically if it finds that you are executing an older version.
There are no limits to the number of portfolios you can track. You are only limited by the amount of disk space you have available.
You can expand or contract columns manually. To perform these functions go to the column header and place the cursor on the column divider.  The cursor will change to double arrow <I>. Click the right mouse and drag open or close the size of the column.
When entering a transaction into PCFolio, the price of that transaction becomes the current price for the security. This price is used in the computation for any remaining or existing shares.
While it is possible to display transaction history in a date range, it is not possible to delete starting on a specific date. Any deleting of transaction history is always done from the oldest transaction up to and including the selected date. This is done to maintain the relationship of purchases to sell orders.
To select different securities while the Transaction Update screen is displayed, just click on a different security on the "Daily Tracker" or any other active screen displayed in the background. By clicking on the Transaction Update screen again, you bring that security into the form. This shortcut allows quick transaction updates.
Windows can be moved around the screen by clicking the title bar and simultaneously holding the right mouse button.
