<!doctype html public "-//w3c//dtd html 4.0 transitional//en">
<html>
<head>

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">

<meta name="keywords" content="remote, systems management, monitoring">
<meta name="keywords" content="events, client-server">
<title>Receiving events from a removed system</title>

<base target="_top">
<link rel="stylesheet" href="basicpg.css">
</head>
<body text="#000000" bgcolor="#FFFFFF" link="#0000FF" vlink="#333399" alink="#0000FF">

<h1>Receiving events from a removed system</h1>
<p>When a remote system is in the Enterprise view, you always receive events that occur on
  that remote system. With the Remove remote system action, you can choose between &quot;Continue
  to receive events from remote system&quot; or &quot;Do not continue to receive
  events from remote system.&quot; If you choose the first option, you can monitor
  for problems on remote systems without having the system in your Enterprise view.</p>
<p>The default is to continue receiving events. </p>
<p>If you choose <b>not</b> to continue receiving events, the HP Storage Manager
  on your local system must connect to the remote system. If the HP Storage Manager successfully
  connects, it removes your local system from the remote system <a href="mnmmain.htm">notification
  list</a>. Because the notification list determines what systems receive events
  from that remote system, your local system stops receiving events.</p>
<p>If the HP Storage Manager cannot connect to the remote system and is therefore
  unable to remove your system from the notification list, another window opens
  asking if you want to remove the system from the Enterprise view even though you will continue
  receiving events. </p>
<ul>
  <li>If you click <b>Yes</b>, the HP Storage Manager removes the remote system
    from the Enterprise view tree and you continue receiving events. <br>
    <br>
  </li>
  <li>If you click <b>No</b>, the remote system remains in the Enterprise view
    tree and you continue receiving events. You can reattempt removing your system
    from the notification list at a later time.</li>
</ul>

<div align="center">
  <hr>
  <a href="gportal.htm">Glossary</a> | <a href="menutoc.htm">Contents</a></div>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p align="right">x-1053-HSM-00-00-EN </p>

</body>

</html>
