Administering users involves adding, editing, deleting, and reporting. After you have added a user or user group, you can assign predefined authorizations from the Authorizations tab.
Users and user groups must exist in the operating system. For Windows, this includes Active Directory. When a user group is configured in HP Systems Insight Manager (HP SIM), any user that is a member of the user group in the operating system can sign into HP SIM. This means they do not have to be configured as a user in HP SIM. The user can subsequently create tasks and run tools based on the user group's authorizations and configuration rights as configured in HP SIM.
The Users tab displays a table which includes the following information:
User/User Group. This column includes all users and user groups. A user group is indicated by a bold font while group-based user accounts (member of a configured user group) are indicated by an italicized font.
Configuration Rights. This column displays what type of configuration rights the user or user group has (full, limited, or none).
Pager Configuration. This column displays if the user has a pager configured, and is blank for user groups.
IP Login Restrictions. This column displays if there are any IP restrictions applied to the user or user group.
Full Name. This column displays the full name for the user or group if this information was set during creation of the user or user group.
The Users tab provides the following options:
Create new users. Select OptionsSecurityUsers and AuthorizationsUsers, and then click [New]. The New User section appears.
Create new user groups. Select OptionsSecurityUsers and AuthorizationsUsers, and then click [New Group]. The New User Group section appears.
Edit existing users or user groups. Select OptionsSecurityUsers and AuthorizationsUsers, and select a user or user group. Click [Edit]. The Edit User or Edit User Group section appears. You can edit group-based (italicized) users to convert them to individually configured users.
Delete users or user groups. Select OptionsSecurityUsers and AuthorizationsUsers, and select users or user groups. Click [Delete]. A confirmation box appears. Click [OK] to delete the users or user groups, or click [Cancel] to cancel the deletion.
View and print user reports. Select OptionsSecurityUsers and AuthorizationsUsers, and then click [Report]. The Users Report pop-up window appears. If you would like to print the report, select FilePrint.
Note:
To sort the information in ascending or descending order, click the appropriate column heading. The column heading that includes the arrow is the column by which the list is sorted. If the arrow is pointing up, the list is sorted in ascending order. If the arrow is pointing down, the list is sorted in descending order.