Version Control Agent Installation Process for Windows

The installation process covers new and upgrade installations of the Version Control Agent.

To install the Version Control Agent on multiple devices simultaneously, refer to Chapter 4 of the Version Control User Guide.

Overview of New and Upgrade Installation Process

The installation program performs the following processes during its execution:

  1. Verifies for the presence of a previously installed version of the Version Control Agent

    1. Performs new installation on systems with no previous installation

    2. Upgrades current installation on systems with existing installation

You will not need to initiate the Upgrade process, since the installation of the Version Control Agent does it for you.

  1. Copies the necessary files to the correct location

  2. Registers Version Control Agent

  3. Initiates the operation of the Version Control Agent

The Version Control Agent installation executable is located in the following locations:

The HP System Management Setup Wizard enables you to set some of the security options used by all of the Insight Management Agents on the device. These options include setting account passwords and configuring the trust mode for Insight Manager 7 servers. If there is a previous version of the Version Control Agent installed on a machine, the wizard detects it and initiates the upgrade of the Version Control Agent. If there is a current version of the Version Control Agent installed, the wizard initiates a reinstallation. If you are downgrading the Version Control Agent, uninstall the current Version Control Agent, reboot the machine, and run the new installation.

Installation of the Version Control Agent on Microsoft Windows Operating Systems

This wizard initiates when an HP Management product is installed in interactive mode if there are no existing security settings.

After the wizard initiates, the HP ProLiant Setup dialog box is displayed as shown.  

If a previous version of the Version Control Agent is installed, the Version Control Agent upgrade is initiated. The HP ProLiant Setup dialog box is displayed and indicates the software is installed but not up to date. Click Install to upgrade.

If a current version of the Version Control Agent is installed, the Version Control Agent reinstall is initiated. The HP ProLiant Setup dialog box is displayed and indicates the software is installed and is up to date. Click Install to reinstall over the currently installed software.

If you have a newer version of the Version Control Agent installed, and you want to downgrade, uninstall the current Version Control Agent, reboot the machine, and run the new installation.

The Setup dialog box, as shown in the preceding image, displays text indicating the Foundation Agents have not been installed.

Version Control Agent Configuration

The Version Control Agent Configuration dialog box enables you to configure the Version Control Repository Manager, which provides a reference point for available HP software.

Select the administrator or operator account and provide the appropriate password for the Version Control Agent to download software from the Version Control Repository Manager. If anonymous access is disabled at the Version Control Repository Manager, select at least the user account and provide the appropriate password for the Version Control Agent to provide software status by comparing the inventory with what is available at the Version Control Repository Manager.

Configuring the Version Control Repository Manager:

  1. In the Repository Manager Device field, enter the name of the server that hosts the Version Control Repository Manager.

  2. In the Repository Manager Login Account field, select the security level from the drop-down list.

This is the account at the Version Control Repository Manager device, not the Version Control Agent device.

  1. In the Password field, enter the password for the login account.

  2. In the Password Confirmation field, re-enter the password exactly as you entered it in the password field. Click Next.

  3. The Login Accounts dialog box is displayed.

If Web Agents are already installed, a Finish button is displayed. Click Finish. The installation is complete.

If Web Agents have never been installed, a Next button is displayed. Click Next. The Login Accounts dialog box displays.

Login Accounts

The Management HTTP Server has three accounts with different access levels. These are the only accounts Management HTTP Server supports. If you are logging in to a Management HTTP Server from Insight Manager 7 using Single Login, you will be logged into Management HTTP Server with the HTTP server account that matches the Insight Manager 7 account privilege set. The Login Accounts dialog box enables you to set the Administrator, Operator, and User passwords.

  1. Enter the account password in the field.

  2. Re-enter the password in the Confirm field exactly the same as you entered it in the password field.

 The Login Accounts dialog box requires that the Administrator password be set. If you do not specify the Administrator password, you will be unable to continue the configuration. The Operator and User passwords are not required.

  1. Click Next. The Trust Mode dialog box is displayed. You can click Back to revert to the previous dialog box.

Trust Mode

The Trust Mode dialog box enables you to select the level of security you want to provide. Trust By Certificates is the default selection on the Trust Mode dialog box because it is the most secure.

  1. Click Add File. A dialog box is displayed.

  2. Enter the name of the file you wish to add.

  3. Click Finish. The HP ProLiant Setup dialog box is displayed.

  4. Click Close. The installation is complete.

Delete allows you to remove any of the files displayed. To delete a file, select the file you wish to delete and click Delete.

 The Trust Mode dialog box displays a Finish button if you select Trust All. Otherwise, Next is displayed.

If you do not add any certificate files to the list, no Insight Manager 7 server will be trusted

  1. Click Add Name to add the name of a device you want to trust. A dialog box is displayed asking you to enter the name of the device you want to trust.

  2. Enter the name of the device you want to trust.

  3. Click Finish. The HP ProLiant Setup dialog box is displayed.  

  4. Click Close. The installation is complete.

Delete allows you to remove any of the trusted names that are displayed. To delete a name, select the name you want to delete and click Delete.

Related Topics

Minimum Requirements

Uninstalling the Version Control Agent