Installing Version Control Agent

The installation process covers new and upgrade installations of the Version Control Agent.

To install the Version Control Agent on multiple systems simultaneously, refer to the HP Systems Insight Manager User Guide.

Overview

During its execution, the installation program:

  1. Verifies the presence of a previously installed version of the Version Control Agent

  2. Performs new installation on systems with no previous installation or upgrades current installation on systems with existing installation

You will not need to initiate the upgrade process because the installation of the Version Control Agent does it for you.

  1. Copies the necessary files to the correct location

  2. Registers Version Control Agent

  3. Initiates the operation of the Version Control Agent

The Version Control Agent installation executable is located in the following locations:

The HP System Management Setup Wizard enables you to set some of the security options used by all of the Insight Management Agents on the device. These options include setting account passwords and configuring the trust mode for HP Systems Insight Manager servers. If there is a previous version of the Version Control Agent installed on a machine, the wizard detects it and initiates the upgrade of the Version Control Agent. If there is a current version of the Version Control Agent installed, the wizard initiates a reinstallation. If you are downgrading the Version Control Agent, uninstall the current Version Control Agent, reboot the machine, and run the new installation.

Installing the Version Control Agent for Windows

When installing the Version Control Agent on Windows operating systems, the wizard initiates when an HP Management product is installed in interactive mode if no security settings exist.

After the wizard initiates, the HP ProLiant Setup dialog box is displayed.  

If a previous version of the Version Control Agent is installed, the Version Control Agent upgrade is initiated. The HP ProLiant Setup dialog box is displayed and indicates the software is installed but not current. Click Install to upgrade.

If a current version of the Version Control Agent is installed, the Version Control Agent reinstall is initiated. The HP ProLiant Setup dialog box is displayed and indicates the software is installed and current. Click Install to reinstall over the currently installed software.

If you have a newer version of the Version Control Agent installed, and you want to downgrade, uninstall the current Version Control Agent, reboot the machine, and run the new installation.

The Setup dialog box, as shown in the preceding image, displays text indicating the Foundation Agents have not been installed.

Configuring the Version Control Agent

The Version Control Agent Configuration dialog box enables you to configure the Version Control Repository Manager, which provides a reference point for available HP software.

Select the administrator or operator account and provide the appropriate password for the Version Control Agent to download software from the Version Control Repository Manager. If anonymous access is disabled at the Version Control Repository Manager, select at least the user account and provide the appropriate password for the Version Control Agent to provide software status by comparing the inventory with what is available at the Version Control Repository Manager.

To configure the Version Control Repository Manager:

  1. In the Repository Manager Device field, enter the name of the system that hosts the Version Control Repository Manager.

  2. In the Login Account field, enter a login that has the appropriate security level for the Management HTTP Server on the specified system.

This account is at the Version Control Repository Manager system, not the Version Control Agent system.

  1. In the Password field, enter the password for the login account.

  2. In the Password Confirm field, re-enter the password exactly as you entered it in the Password field. If Web Agents are already installed, a Finish button is displayed. Click Finish. The installation is complete. If Web Agents have never been installed, a Next button is displayed. Click Next. The Login Accounts dialog box is displayed.

Login Accounts

The Management HTTP Server has three accounts with different access levels. Management HTTP Server supports only these accounts. If you are logging in to a Management HTTP Server from HP Systems Insight Manager using Single Login, you will be logged in to Management HTTP Server with the HTTP server account that matches the HP Systems Insight Manager account privilege set. The Login Accounts dialog box enables you to set the administrator, operator, and user passwords.

  1. Enter the account password in the field.

  2. Re-enter the password exactly the same as you entered it in the Password field in the Confirm field .

 The Login Accounts dialog box requires that the administrator password be set. If you do not specify the administrator password, you cannot continue the configuration. The operator and user passwords are not required.

  1. Click Next. The Trust Mode dialog box is displayed. Click Back to revert to the previous dialog box.

Configuring Trust Mode

The Trust Mode dialog box enables you to select the level of security you want to provide. Trust By Certificates is the default selection on the Trust Mode dialog box because it is the most secure.

  1. Click Add File. A dialog box is displayed asking you to enter the name of the file you want to add..

  2. Enter the name of the file.

  3. Click Finish. The HP ProLiant Setup dialog box is displayed.

  4. Click Close. The installation is complete.

Delete enables you to remove any of the files displayed. To delete a file, select the file you wish to delete and click Delete.

 The Trust Mode dialog box displays a Finish button if you select Trust All. Otherwise, Next is displayed.

If you do not add any certificate files to the list, no HP Systems Insight Manager server will be trusted

  1. Click Add Name to add the name of a device you want to trust. A dialog box is displayed asking you to enter the name of the device you want to trust.

  2. Enter the name of the device you want to trust.

  3. Click Finish. The HP ProLiant Setup dialog box is displayed.  

  4. Click Close. The installation is complete.

Delete allows you to remove any of the trusted names that are displayed. To delete a name, select the name you want to delete and click Delete.

Related Topics

Minimum Requirements

Uninstalling the Version Control Agent